Who can ID all three fish?

Can you identify these fish?

After the REEF Fish Identification class today, I went on a snorkel survey with Jack, Miranda, Beth, Cassidy, Melodie and Kristie. A few minutes into the survey, I spotted these three fish and snapped a picture. I was specifically trying to get a picture of the fish in the middle because I have never seen this species in Waikīkī before.

Who can positively identify all three fish?

6 Responses to “Who can ID all three fish?”

  1. Maybe Eyestripe surgeonfish, Bonefish and ??? a trumpetfish??
    That is what they look like to me.
    I ended up going to Kaimana later that same day and taking 2 girls snorkeling, we all identified fish from the chart, they loved it and it was a BLAST!! Mahalo!

  2. Do I get a prize if I am right? 🙂

  3. You got the first one correct! Glad you guys were able to snorkel and ID some fish!

  4. You gonna tell us what the other fish are?!

  5. Heather Hillard February 4, 2011 at 9:57 am

    OK, here are the fish starting from the top and going down:

    1.) Eyestripe surgeonfish (Acanthurus dussumieri)-look at the white scalpel
    2.) Male Cigar wrasse (Cheilio inermis)
    3.) Bluefin trevally (Caranx melampygus)

  6. I think the cigar wrasse and trevally team up regularly. I have an almost identical picture from Hanauma Bay. I wonder if they could be the same exact pair.

Leave a Reply

