Introducing our newest intern

Hi everyone – My name is Selen Yildiz, and I graduated from the University of Hawai’i at Mānoa with a degree in Environmental Sciences in Spring 2011. I am originally from Istanbul, Turkey, and currently living in Istanbul. While living in Hawai’i as a


student, I learned about Reef Watch Waikīkī and its efforts to protect the Waikīkī shoreline. I wanted to volunteer for the organization very much; however, things got in the way. Since Jennifer Barrett and I have known each other for a while, she accepted to supervise me remotely for an internship focused on marine protected areas (MPA).

Throughout my internship, I will have various tasks including putting together a toolbox for MPA managers, contributing to the RWW blog and analyzing the data collected by volunteers in the Waikīkī Marine Life Conservation District (MLCD). If there are any MPA-related concepts or subjects you would like me to explore and write about, please drop me an email at kailuagal85@gmail.com. In the next few posts, I will first define what an MPA is and then focus on the regulations in the Waikīkī MLCD and its history, and introduce you to the other MPAs in Hawai’i and what they are all about.

There is a sea of information out there on MPAs, most of which I also don’t know! I will try to filter the most important bits of info and share it with you. Stay tuned!

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

