Weekend in the MLCD

With such calm surf, Waikīkī was the place to be last weekend.  The highlight Saturday was being surrounded by about 15 or more Bluefin Trevally (omilu).  The only thing the fish in this school were studying was me.  After they circled me about 3 times and left, a barracuda approached.  First time in the ocean I kinda felt like prey.  Sunday I wondered if the Hawaiian Elegant Hermit Crab ever got tired of lugging that shell around, which I believe is from the Auger family.  My best shot ever of a Gosline’s Fangblenny was made even more intriguing by the fish lurking in the background!  Mantis shrimp and octopuses rounded out the weekend.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

